Congratulations to National Book Award Winners!

Last night, the National Book Foundation revealed the recipients of the 2009 National Book Award, and we here at Vintage/Anchor are thrilled that Knopf/future Vintage author TJ Stiles took home the prize for best non-fiction!

His book, THE FIRST TYCOON: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt, won for its “deep and imaginative research and graceful writing,” and the NBF praised Stiles:

With few letters and no diaries, and with layers of legend to carve through, Stiles captures Cornelius Vanderbilt as a person and as a force who shaped the transportation revolution, all but invented unbridled American capitalism, and left his mark not only all over New York City but, for better or worse, all over our economic landscape.

Also honored at the ceremony were Vintage authors Gore Vidal, recipient of the Distinguished Contribution to American Letters for 2009, and Dave Eggers, recipient of the Literarian Award for his “outstanding service to the American literary community.”

A hearty congratulations to the rest of the winners as well, full list after the jump: Fiction:


  • Keith Waldrop, Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy (University of California Press)

Young People’s Literature:

  • Phillip Hoose, Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)


One thought on “Congratulations to National Book Award Winners!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s