Books = Gifts: Our Gift to You is a W. Somerset Maugham Giveaway!

Just in time for the holidays, we’re happy to unveil two newly reissued titles by one of the most prolific and popular writers of the 20th Century, W. Somerset Maugham.

Originally published in 1932 A WRITER’S NOTEBOOK and THE NARROW CORNER are on sale this week in new Vintage editions, and to celebrate, we’re offering the pair as a giveaway. Leave a comment about what books you’re looking forward to giving or receiving as gifts this season– the first five commenters will win.

A unique and exhilarating look into a great writer’s working mind, A WRITER’S NOTEBOOK is Maugham’s intimate journal, chronicling nearly five decades of his life. In it we see the origins of his incomparable vision and the sensibilities that would bring him to the forefront of literature. Covering the years from his time as a medical student in London to his travels around the world, it is by turns playful, sharp witted, and profoundly revealing. A WRITER’S NOTEBOOK is a compelling look at the inner thoughts and inspirations of one of literatures most significant authors.

Filled with adventure, passion, and intrigue, THE NARROW CORNER is a classic tale of the sea by a twentieth-century master at the height of his craft. Island hopping across the South Pacific, the esteemed Dr. Saunders is offered passage by Captain Nichols and his companion Fred Blake. The two men appear unsavory, yet any means of transportation is hard to resist. The trip turns turbulent, however, when a vicious storm forces them to seek shelter on the remote island of Kanda. There these three men fall under the spell of the sultry and stunningly beautiful Louise, and their story spirals into a wicked tale of love, murder, jealousy, and suicide.

12 thoughts on “Books = Gifts: Our Gift to You is a W. Somerset Maugham Giveaway!

  1. Well, alas I don’t think these are Vintage editions (sorry), but there’s a new book about the Queen Mother I’ll be getting my elderly mother for Christmas — she’s already read parts of it from the library & has rhapsodized on how pleasant it is. For a couple of other family members, it’ll be a copy of Cormac McCarthy’s “The Road”, one brother will get a science fiction anthology, and my GP will be getting a new book about Norman Bethune (it’s a tradition to get our family doctor books for gifts, it’s a cool way to say “thanks”). Sharon Kay Penman’s book about Richard III will be set aside for my friends & sisters in law.

  2. I am planning on giving away the first two bokos in Stieg Larsson’s Millenium trilogy away for Christmas this year. They have been such a fun experience to read. I want more people to talk to about them.

    Thanks for the great giveaway! I’ve always wanted to read W. Somerset Maugham. They would also make great gifts for those who love the classics.

    • Hello, congrats on winning the MAugham give-away! Please send us your mailing address and we’ll pop a copy in the mail. Take care and happy holidays!

  3. I’m looking forward to give Cormac McCarthy’s Blood Meridian to someone this Christmas. I described it to my friend as the literary equivalent of a cross between the first 10 minutes of 2001: A Space Odyssey and The Wild Bunch. I often find myself explaining things/concepts in terms of movie-hybrids. I should get out more.

    • Hi Rudy congrats on winning the Maugham give-away! Please send us your mailing address and we’ll pop a copy in the mail. Take care and happy holidays!

  4. Though I am loathe to admit it, I was born selfish. My holiday wishlist, in an ideal world, would consist of a copy of: Junichiro Tanizaki’s The Makioka Sisters with that beautiful drawn cover, Raymond Chandler’s The Little Sister, Philip Roth’s Indignation(which I’ve been hearing so much about), and- in a rare non-fiction pick for me, T.J. Stiles’ The Fist Tycoon. I am a sucker for a beautifully-designed cover, and Vintage seems to have no end to their selection of wonderful cover art.

    • Hi Rodolfo, congrats on winning the MAugham give-away! Please send us your mailing address and we’ll pop a copy in the mail. Take care and happy holidays!

      • Rodolfo A. Burgos
        67-30 Clyde Street #6V
        Forest Hills, NY 11375

        I’ll get the hang of this commenting, yet.

  5. Vintage’s Nabokovs should be on everyone’s list this year. I’m a pre-ADA reader myself, but there are those who love Transparent Things and Harlequins.

    Certainly every house should have a copy of Pale Fire

  6. I love reading journals and getting up close to the mood and mind of the writer. The sea holds a particular fascination for me although when rough, I prefer to not be buffeted by waves and back on steady land.

Leave a Reply

